jump to navigation

Is it Autumn Yet? October 4, 2008

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback
Last night, my friend and I were sitting in the living room and I said to her

 

“I never want to live in a vegetative state, dependent on some machine and fluids from a bottle. If that ever happens, just pull the plug”.
She got up, unplugged my Computer, and threw out my wine.
She’s such a bitch.
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Yessssssss!  I’m so happy the  weekend is upon us.  Hub and I got out fairly early and did the yard work, as we may be getting some rain later tonight and into tomorrow.  Of course, since we did the yard work it won’t rain.  I tried to undo that jinx by watering my plants.  Of course it will rain if my plants don’t need to be watered, right?  Right.
Fall has arrived in Phoenix, at least for the weekend.  It’s only in the eighties right now, and tomorrow’s high will be in the upper seventies.  I’m truly speaking out of turn, here, as next week we’ll be back in the mid to upper nineties, but a girl can dream, can’t she? 
It was so pleasant doing the yard work this morning.  It was overcast, the sun hidden behind the clouds and not beating down on us.  I used the weed whacker and promptly cut a hose from the watering system that waters the tree in the main front yard.  :::Eyeroll::: One more thing that now needs fixin’ – good thing I married Mr. Fix-it.  (Now, now.  I could fix it myself, I’m sure, and may end up doing so if The Hub doesn’t get to it soon.  All it needs is a little hose connector dealy.   But I don’t want The Hub to think I don’t need him anymore.)  After my bout with being destructive, The Hub took over and mowed and edged the yard while I de-weeded the rock garden beds and started sweeping up the grass clippings.  Don’t hate me because my life is so glamorous.
Tonight for dinner I’m making Sweet Potato and Banana Soup.  Should be interesting.  I’m all about trying new things.  We (Read: The Hub and I) get so incredibly bored eating the same things over and over.  Bryce will probably hate it, so there will be cornbread and cauliflower as sides.  He can fill up on that after his nose scrunches up into that “I don’t think I like this at all” look.  Sigh.  I never can seem to please everyone.  Though that spaghetti squash and jalapeno cream was a winner with us all.  I don’t think they’d like that seven nights a week, though.
Why is it that everything needs replacing all at the same time?  We need a new R.O. water system, our pool “Scum sucker” has more than likely bit the dust, so there’s a few hundred dollars we can kiss good-bye.  I really really want to get new plates and flatware, but I can’t seem to find exactly what I am looking for.  Don’t ask me what I am looking for.  I’ll know it when I see it.  We are just weird.  The bowls of the spoons have to be a certain way, and the tines on the fork can’t be too long or too short, and the knives … well.  Like I said.  Weird.  The plates and bowls – that’s a whole ‘nother diatribe I’ll save for another day.  We’ve been trying to find dishes we both like for the past few years.  We found one set we both liked, said we’d go back to buy it, and by the time we thought of it again, the set was discontinued.  Just our luck.
 
It’s time to go finish making the soup and sides.
 
Quote of the Day:
Odd how much it hurts when a friend moves away – and leaves behind only silence.
        ~ Pam Brown 

Comments»

1. Anne Allen - October 4, 2008

Sounds divine. I like unusual things to eat. I can’t eat sushi however. Well, I could, but I don’t. Like your format. Anne

2. Tressa Bailey - October 5, 2008

OMG!!!!! Remind me to never go cutlery shopping with you! ROFLMAO I don’t know whether that description or your beginning joke was funnier…. I go shopping, I generally grab the first thing that fits my rather simple expectations (with the exception of cutlery) and I am out. I can get a month’s worth of groceries in an hour or less! But I bet your cutlery is much nicer than the mish mash we eat on around here….I don’t think anything matches anymore! Its like a diner.

Its 40 degrees here right now…. I love you usually but right now I’d like to slap you!!!!! I dream of warm weather in the Summer sometimes!


Leave a comment