jump to navigation

Tiddely Poms October 23, 2008

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

We all know my history of trying to grow vegetables here in the desert.  For 11 years, two planting seasons each year, I’ve tried my hand at growing at least tomatoes.  Three or four tomato plants, usually, and the entire time I’ve been trying I’ve reaped maybe … five … tomatoes.  Five tomatoes in 11 (almost 12) years!  That’s pretty shameful, but I just haven’t found the right combination of location, watering and sunshine.  The sun and heat have burned them (fried green tomatoes on the vine!) almost every time.  When I lived in North Carolina (Or even Indiana and Louisiana) I always had an abundance of any vegetable I planted. Hell, I grew zucchini as large as a cave man’s club (I’ll have to dig that picture out and scan it) and we didn’t even like zucchini!!  

I had gorgeous flower gardens, too, the envy of the block.  I’m not saying that to be boastful, truly, I’m only saying it to make a point.  The desert is just not my most optimal growing location.  Others I have seen can and do manage lush veggie gardens, I just haven’t had that kind if luck here.  I can’t explain how much it breaks my hardened little heart.  Gardening has always been such a part of my life. 

I have been in contact with our local news station garden guru, and he advised me to put my tomato plants on the north side of the house for the best results.  My spring crop?  A grand total of (Wait for it) ….. zero.  Zilch.  Nada. 

That’s the absolute last thing I will say about my tomatoes this season, until the frost bites them in the hiney.  Pictures say a thousand words, so they say ….

I’m so happy there’s only one work day left this week.  We’ve got six patients tomorrow back to back, so we should be done by 11:30 or so.  Not that we have big weekend plans – the Fear Farm and grocery shopping.  Depending on what’s racing, maybe a trip out to the race track.  I’d like to go out and buy Blaine’s Christmas present, and maybe even The Hub’s while we’re out there. 

I’ve been trying to think of a few things I can send over for Brock and his fellow soldiers.  I’ve done the RiceKrispieTreats, I’ve done popcorn balls … but I’m at a loss as to what I can send next for them.  Chocolate covered pretzels would be good, but the chocolate will melt.  Cookies are too fragile.  Brownies will become dry and stale.  I need some good ideas for stuff to send to Afghanistan!  They can buy candy, so I don’t want to necessarily go that route.  Something homemade that travels well. 

Oh.  My. Gosh. 

I just thought of what I am going to make!!  ChexMix and “PuppyChow” or “MudPuppies” (Whichever you prefer to call it) that chocolate and peanut butter covered ChexMix.  My kids LOVE that stuff!  Bryce ran down the stairs screaming “I NEED TO CALL AUNT PUFFY” Monday night, and I was curious as to why it was so urgent.  He said “It’s almost Christmas … Mud Puppies!  She might forget!”

Quote of the Day:
 

If you want to make a song more hummy, add a few tiddely poms.
        ~Winnie the Pooh

Comments»

1. azoasis8 - October 23, 2008

If you want me to send you an email when I post an entry, leave me a comment with your email address or send me an email and let me know. ~~Kath~~


Leave a Reply

