jump to navigation

Thanksgiving 2008 November 27, 2008

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
trackback

 

Thanks, Morgan, for letting me sleep in until four twenty this morning.  (Yep.  My sugars were on the lower side.  It’s very strange, as I have had such high – for me – blood sugars in the mornings lately.)
 
I have two of the turkey breasts brining.  The third I can’t brine as it has “Cajun” seasonings rubbed into it.  I had a little “Brining accident” in which about a cup the brine ended up on the floor … so …. the floor is freshly mopped now, too!  (Twice – I wasn’t happy with the first version – too streaky.)
 
I’m trying to wake up enough to get the pie crust rolled out and the pumpkin guts mixed together so the pie can be marked off the list.  Then I’ll start the yeast rolls, boil the eggs and I’m thinking about making homemade waffles for everyone for breakfast. 
 
It’s raining for the second day in a row, we’re under flood advisories. We haven’t had rain in 88 days, and the desert bed is so dry it can’t absorb all the rain that’s falling.  Another little weather fact – it hasn’t rained on Thanksgiving day in Phoenix since 1988.  Yeah.  I knew you wanted to know.  My pool is full to capacity.  I probably should have waited until the rain stopped to mop the floor.  I’m out of Swiffer pads, too, just used the last two.  Of course.  Because it’s raining.  And I’ll need them. 
 
Piper is very attached to her Mom (Of course) and doesn’t really let any of us comfort her if she’s crying – she turns to Mom, the obvious choice, so last night we were quite surprised when she got in trouble (Trying to eat Gavin’s teething tablets) and she went first to Big Daddy for hugs, then me.  It was all for show.   The fake crying, the woe is me everlasting sobbing.  Poor pitiful Piper.  We gladly gave her the hugs she needed, and two seconds after the “Sobbing” stopped she was off and running and laughing.  Such the drama queen!
 
We still can’t convince Piper that The Hub isn’t “Daddy.”  We’ll say that’s “Aki” or “Grandpa” and she’ll say “Nooooooo it isn’t!  That’s daddy!”  See, she had a friend in Texas who had a “Grandma” so she understand the concept there, but her little friend didn’t have a “Grandpa” so I figure because The Hub is a male figure, all make figures to Piper are “Daddy.”  I’m still “Grandma”  :::Shiver::: but if someone says “Give it to Meema” she knows that’s me, she just won’t call me “Meema.”  I’m sure it will come in time, but I don’t want to be called “Grandma.”
 
OK – time to get the pie done – more later.
 
Both pies? Check
Both batches of rolls rising? Check
Deviled eggs? Check
Run to store for apple juice for the kids? Check
“Crack Dip?” Check
Starving? Check
 
I really need to eat something, I’m starting to get a headache, but I really don’t feel like eating anything but Thanksgiving dinner.  Blaine and Nicole just called, they are on their way over, so I suppose it’s about time to put the birds in the oven.
 
So much work for twenty minutes at the table.  Dee and the grandchildren went over to her grandparents for a few hours, and Blaine and Nicole left a little while ago, taking Bryce with them for the weekend.  The desserts never got touched.
 
I’m tired and my foot hurts.  I have a hard knot on the bottom of my foot that hurts if I walk barefoot/socked.  It seems to be less painful if I have on shoes.  The doc looked at it yesterday and said there’s probably a piece of glass or a splinter in there, but there’s not much they can do about it right now.  He said his wife has one, too.  I suppose if it gets infected, then they’ll do something?  I don’t know.  I think I’m off to curl up on my bed and read for awhile.
 
 
Comments»

1. Rosie - November 28, 2008

I’m glad you had a good day! Our desserts never got touched either and now they stare at me, taunting me to try them lol I hope you got some rest and recuperate from T-Day 08 lol

2. Joyce - November 28, 2008

Sleeping in for any length of time for me is a blessing. Love your check list…and I am going to try turkey breast next year…so many have told me how much easier it is…hugs and love,
Joyce

3. Anne Allen - November 28, 2008

You worked so hard! I know your meal was a feast! Hope you were able to get some rest. Rain in the desert sounds wonderful to me, however, I know it floods easily and drivers a crazy. I am “chi chi” to my grandkids. I didn’t want to be called “Grandma” either. Anne

4. Joyce - December 1, 2008

Turkey breast is on my list for sure for either Christmas dinner or next Thanksgiving…loved your MeMe answers…hope you have a great Tues.
Hugs and love,
Joyce


Leave a Reply

