jump to navigation

Saturday 12-06-08 December 6, 2008

Posted by Rusty in Recipes, Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback
This is one of our favorite soups.  It’s SO easy, and very tasty!  Saute fresh sliced mushrooms OR a couple of cans of sliced mushrooms in a very small amount of olive oil or butter/margarine.  If Bryce isn’t eating with you, you can throw in a sliced onion.  (Not that he’ll eat the ‘shrooms, but they are easier to pick out, I guess.)  When they are browned to your liking add a couple of cans of beef broth, a shake or two of thyme and rosemary, and a handful of barley.  The more broth you add, the more barley you can add.  I usually use 4-5 cans of broth and two handfuls of barley.  Simmer until the barley is cooked through, 20-30 minutes.  Sprinkle with grated Parmesan cheese once you’ve ladled the soup into bowls.  It’s even better the second (Or third) day.  (We’ve even used mozzarella cheese, just as good!)
 
This morning was “Grocery day.”  Ugh.  It’s no secret how much I love going grocery shopping.  (Not.)  When we pulled out of the driveway, there was our neighborhood loud-mouth, the rooster.  He was just laying there under our van, didn’t even move when we started it up.  I got out and followed him to our front door with my phone camera.  The Rooster
Resident Big Mouth

Resident Big Mouth

Wake Up Call

Wake Up Call

Free Alarm Clock

Free Alarm Clock

We “inherited” a gorgeous new desk this week.  It used to belong to the doctor who owned the practice before Doc K took it over, so it’s more than likely an antique.  Doc brought back his grandfather’s desk from his visit home, so Bryce helped him move the desk that was in his office to his house, then brought the grandfather’s desk to our office, and I got the old doc’s desk that was in Doc’s office at home.  I’ll take a picture when I get my computer set up on it.  My current computer desk will replace The Hub’s upstairs.  He’s using an old cheap roll-top desk, that the roll top has been removed from.  It’s going to go in the garage sale pile.  We might can sell it for a buck or two.
I think we may go out “Stocking Stuffer” shopping later.  I also have a “Ship to Store” delivery to pick up at WalMart.  I only have one or two things for The Hub for Christmas, so I need to pick him up a few gifts, too.  He’s getting harder and harder to buy for.  I can’t believe I’m not done shopping yet.   It’s really stressing me out.
The Piper.  Get it?

The Piper. Get it?

Quote of the Day:
To many people holidays are not voyages of discovery, but a ritual of reassurance.
        ~ Philip Andrew Adams

Want more hits? alphainventions.com <~~Go there.

Comments»

1. Juanita - December 6, 2008

Hey Kathy! That soup sound yummy. I don’t cook alot but I do love a good soup. Glad you are on board with us this month.

2. Nelishia - December 6, 2008

I have never ever had barley soup. That means I’m going to have to. It sounds so yummy and warm. I still have Christmas shopping to do too. I have my husband’s number one gift but it’s still the small stuff to buy for both of them that’s stressful because I don’t know what I want until I see it.

I do not like grocery shopping a bit more than you do either. Trust me on that.

Piper is sooo cute.

3. Joyce - December 8, 2008

For sure keep those alerts coming to me Kath…I am so sorry I have not been around lately, things got so busy here and preparing for our trip away and now back…hope to get back on track!!! I did a big time grocery shopping this morning…got it all done…I kind of like it…LOL I know…I am weird…LOL Piper is so cute. I have never eaten barely soup…sounds yummy!!
Hugs and love,
Joyce


Leave a Reply

