jump to navigation

Tuesday 12-09-08 December 9, 2008

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback
I went in to work this morning and was bored to tears.  The boss showed up around ten, and I left about eleven thirty.  Total snoozefest.  Tomorrow we have a fairly busy day, though, so at least I will have something to occupy my brain.
 
Stopped by SearsEssentials on the way home, attempting to find some stocking stuffers for The Hub and Bryce.  I found a few for Bryce, but nothing for The Hub.  I tried on some pants, since I don’t seem to have any that fit me this year.  I don’t understand why clothing manufacturers think the average woman is six and a half feet tall!  I tried on size sixteen pants, and I could have worn a pair of ten inch stiletto’s and they would have been too long still.  I’m not short (About 5’6″) but that was ridiculous.  I went back and got a few pair of 16 petites.  They fit me perfectly, except a bit baggy in the hips.  I bought them anyway, because a size smaller would have been too snug for my liking.  The length is perfect.  I’m searching for a top to wear for Christmas (Though, why? I dunno.  My family doesn’t do the whole “Get dressed nice for the holidays” thing.  I still like to, though.) and I know exactly what I want, I just have to see it first.  Ha ha.
 
I haven’t done any of my holiday baking yet.  I don’t know that I will be doing much of it.  I do want to make a few mini loaves of pumpkin bread or cranberry bread for the mail lady at work, my friend Sheila from down the breezeway, and my hairdresser.  Other than that, I don’t think I’ll worry too much about it.  MitMarie can’t have the cookies I make her every year, so I’m not even making those.  I will be making some extra super spicy Chex mix, though.  Wouldn’t be a holiday without it!
 
Here is the recipe for the Mexican Wedding Cakes (aka Russian Tea Cakes) I make for Marie every year: 
~*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
Mexican Wedding Cakes
Makes about 48

1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 cup butter, softened
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup finely chopped pecans
1/4 teaspoon salt
powdered sugar

Pre-heat oven to 325 F. In a large bowl combine 1/2 cup powdered sugar, butter and vanilla. Blend well. Stir in flour, nuts and salt until dough holds together. Shape into 1-inch balls. Place inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 15-20 minutes until set but not brown. Immediately remove from cookie sheets. Cool slightly and roll in powdered sugar. Cool completely and reroll in powdered sugar.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
I have a new sweater pattern to start knitting – but I can’t seem to wrap my head around casting on and getting started.  I’m  still a bit foggy from being ill, I’m afraid I will screw something up and have to start and restart over and over again, like that last @#$^ sweater.
 
Quote of the Day: 
I know well what I am fleeing from but not what I am in search of.      
        ~Michel de Montaigne
 
Comments»

1. Kelly - December 9, 2008

I so wish I had been bored to tears today at work…lol…I was going out of my mind busy and my mom and son kept calling me driving me flippin crazy…….lol…I am so gonna have to make some of those cookies…gonna start my stuff this weekend I think… 🙂

Kelly

2. Joyce - December 10, 2008

You do so much…the sweater sounds like it will be nice once it is made…the recipe looks yummy!! Holiday baking is not going to be done here…got too many other things going on….hugs and love,
Joyce

3. Nelishia - December 10, 2008

Those sound like cookies I’ll enjoy making. Thank you alot for the recipe. I’ve never been bored to tears at any job. I haven’t done any of my holiday baking as of yet either. WAAAY behind. I’m only 5’10” and I have never found a pair of pants that is too short for me. Most pants I try on look like capri’s. Talk about high waters! And if I get something to fit in the hips, the waist has so much room in it you could move in a small Asian family. My butt is huge but my waist is always smaller jmo. LOL I need to by stocking stuffers for DH too.


Leave a Reply

