jump to navigation

Saturday Dec 13, 2008 December 13, 2008

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback
Happy Birthday, Sis!!
I got some presents wrapped last night, and we’re going to save some of our presents to open at the “Second Christmas” in January with Brock.  I even pondered today just postponing the whole thing in favor of waiting ’til we are all together.  I don’t think the grandchildren are old enough yet to know the difference.  I think the only one who would protest (Only mildly) would be Bryce.  One advantage of waiting would be the after Christmas sales!
 
I made some very tasty turkey soup for dinner tonight.  I had frozen the broth a month or so ago.  I just cut up some onion, garlic, mushrooms and carrots (Diced small) and one jalapeno, diced very small,  and threw them in the pot to saute for a few minutes.  I then dumped in the still frozen broth, let that thaw out and heat up, then threw in two handfuls of barley.  It was so good!
 
We went out this morning to shop for stocking stuffers for each other.  We ended up at WorldMarket and spent more than we should have, but I love that store!  We ate lunch at Rubio’s – I had my first lobster taco.  Oh – sinful!  It was so good.  We then headed to CircuitCity because they are closing their doors.  There were no good bargains to be found and everything was well picked over.  On to HomeDepot for salt for the water softener, and then we headed home. 
 
We’re old.  We were both in need of a nap after our excursion.  We’re pitiful, I tell ya!  I knitted and watched FoodNetwork, and The Hub was messing around on his computer.  No naps, but I wish I had taken one!
 
Bryce is over at Blaine’s for the weekend, and it’s so quiet.  I don’t have anyone to pick on!  (And in turn, no one is picking on me!)
 
Here’s my cookie recipe for the day.  We used to make these during the holidays when I was growing up.
 
Beacon Hill Cookies
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
2 egg whites
1 pinch salt
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon distilled white vinegar
3/4 cup chopped pecans
Melt chocolate over hot, not boiling water. (Or 30 seconds on High in microwave, stir then another 30 seconds.)
Beat egg whites with a dash of salt until foamy. Gradually add sugar, beating well, then beat until stiff peaks form.
Beat in vanilla and vinegar.
Fold in melted chocolate and nuts.
Drop by teaspoonfuls on well greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees F (180 degrees C) for 10+ minutes. Remove from pan *immediately.* 
 
Quote of the Day: 
Christmas waves a magic wand over this world, and behold, everything is softer and more beautiful. 
        ~Norman Vincent Peale
 
Comments»

1. Nelishia - December 13, 2008

It always seems that we shop till we drop. Into our comfy chairs or into the bed for a nap. Sometimes we’re too tired to even bring it in. I hope the schedule will work out for everyone’s satisfaction. Again, your cooking is awesome. I’ll have to buy some Barley to see if we like it here.

Nelishia

2. Sandra - December 14, 2008

The turkey soup sounds lovely, I must remember that when it comes to the leftovers from the Christmas bird. Also I`m copying your cookie recipe and I`m going to give it a try. :o)

Love Sandra xxxx


Leave a Reply

