jump to navigation

Monday, December 15, 2008 December 15, 2008

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
trackback
I had a very long diatribe about some stressors in my life started, but as this is a public forum, can I just say ARGHHHHH?!?!  I’ll leave it at that for now. 
 
I need a vacation.  Badly.  For a month or two.  Alone.  Ok.  Maybe The Hub can come with me.
 
We didn’t shop last grocery trip for “Having guests” so it’s slim pickings because we really don’t have enough of any one item to feed all of us.  I have to make do with what I’ve got.  I had some (unbreaded) chicken tenderloin strips in the freezer – again, not enough for six, but I figured I could stretch to make them fit.  I sauteed them until brown, removed them from the pan and cut them into chunks.  Into the pan I added fresh quartered ‘shrooms, a head of cauliflower cut into bite size pieces and sauteed them for just a few minutes.  I added two cans of vegetable broth and fistful of angel hair spaghetti broken into small pieces and covered the pan to allow the pasta to cook.  When the pasta was cooked through I added about a third a head of cabbage, chopped and two packets of powdered chicken gravy mix with a few splashes of soy sauce.  It was quite tasty.  Makeshift Lo Mein!
 
I have no earthly idea what I can throw together tomorrow night. 
 
On the way home from work my van was running in the hot mode.  It’s just one more thing that’s pushing me to think about getting a new vehicle, as much as I don’t want to do that.  I can’t rely on a steady check at work right now, so we’ll be forced to *super glue, duct tape*  -and pray – it will hold up a while longer.  The heater blows cold air, the passenger side window doesn’t work, the windshield wiper fluid hose keeps popping off, the back vent windows work when they feel like working, thank you very much, the front seat cup-holder is hanging on by a thread, and occasionally the doors don’t want to unlock/lock.  It’s ten years old now, and the engine has held up very well, it’s just the rest of the car that’s falling apart around me.     * I’m exaggerating.  The Hub fixes everything.  There’s no duct tape OR super glue holding my car together. 
 
It’s been raining on and off since early afternoon.  In an odd twist, we’re supposed to be getting rain all the way through Thursday morning.  I can’t remember the last time we had rain three days in a row.  Up north around Flagstaff they’re expecting a few feet of snow.  They’ll be having a white Christmas!
 
We got a gift basket from my father today.  When The Hub came home he said “Looks like it’s time to throw away last years English Muffins before we put this years in the freezer!”  We got six packages of the muffins last year and I think we still have four of them.  I don’t know why we don’t eat them, we don’t hate English muffins or anything.  I think we just forget they are in the freezer.  We aren’t freezing them this year.  We’re leaving them out and forcing everyone to eat one every single day until they are gone, which includes the mailman, the UPS guy and the neighbors dogs. 
 
I wish we could find the tiny mutt that has been using our front yard as the local poop place.  That just infuriates me.  Pick up your pooches poop, damnit.  I don’t have a dog because I don’t want to pick up poop.  You chose to have a dog, not me, so keep that thing – and it’s poop-  out of my yard!    There is one dog owner down the street, when confronted with letting his dogs poop in the kids park, said “I don’t want it in MY yard!”  I know it’s not his dogs, because he has large dogs, and this is itsy bitsy poop.  Sorry dog owners.  Rant over.
 
I’m off to knit.
 
Quote of the Day:
I didn’t ask to be a princess, but if the crown fits ….
 
 
 
 
 
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

