jump to navigation

Wednesday, Dec. 17, 2008 December 17, 2008

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback
I’ve had terrible hard cracking skin on my heals for years and years.  The past year or so I’ve been using pumice stones, sandpapery files and most recently the “PedEgg.”  The “PedEgg” has worked the best, but recently I was reading an article by a podiatrist and she suggested using acne pads that contain Salicylic Acid followed by an emollient rich foot cream every night, followed by a pair of socks, (I’m using “Foot Miracle,” which I ordered through work from a medical supply company) and it’s been working like a charm!  You are supposed to see great results in two weeks, but I’ve only been doing it four days and wow!  I am well pleased.  I have to admit mine were not very bad, they just looked a little dry, because after all I have been working on them for a year plus now.  They are soft and not dry at all now.
 
Speaking of ugly heels.  I saw a woman last weekend and her heels were so bad I literally gagged.  Nas-tay.
 
This week had dragged by, especially today. The boss and I are still not back to 100% health-wise, and this morning seemed to take two weeks to get through.  I sick and tired of being sick, though.  We finally took our office Christmas card picture yesterday.  OF COURSE I had overslept (The first time that’s happened in the six years since I’ve gone back to work) and my hair sucked eggs, I didn’t have lipstick on and it looks like I have no lips, I had on a scrub top that’s about four sizes too big, and it’s a good thing we wore Santa hats to distract from the sorry sight I was.  I’ll have to ask if I can bring a card home and scan it in to share it.  (Yes, I uploaded the picture, made cards at WalGreens, and he picked them up yesterday – I mailed them today.)
 
I finished my Christmas shopping yesterday at Michael’s.  I wanted to get a few things there for Bryce, and I did find what I was looking for. (Surprise!)  I also found *elasticized yarn to make socks with.  Hmmm.  Never heard of it, but it was on sale half off, so I bought two skeins to try it out.  I shouldn’t have even ventured to the knitting section (As I ended up with SIX skeins of half off sock yarn, not just the two stretchy skeins) but I needed circular needles for the knit-along.  I bought some when I bought the yarn for the project, but I had to go up a size in needles to get the gauge, so that left me without the right sized circular needles.  It’s always something!  Anyway, I’m almost done with the cabled yoke, so I’m going to be able to move on to the body of the sweater.  I’m excited, because knitting cables is …fun.   I can see the accomplishment, instead of row after row of garter or stockinette stitch, where it seems like nothing is getting done, and you’re swimming in a sea of repetitive stitches.           *It doesn’t SAY “Elasticized,”  it says “Stretchy” I am assuming it’s elasticized?
 
My eyes are drooping, so I’m going to go get in bed, watch Ghost Hunters and knit until I fall asleep.
 
Quote of the Day:
I have always thought of Christmas time, when it has come round, as a good time; a kind, forgiving, charitable time; the only time I know of, in the long calendar of the year, when men and women seem by one consent to open their shut-up hearts freely, and to think of people below them as if they really were fellow passengers to the grave, and not another race of creatures bound on other journeys.                   
        ~Charles Dickens

 
 
 
 
Comments»

1. Nelishia - December 17, 2008

I think stretchy and elastic is the same thing. I hope you actually start to feel better soon. I only saw nasty ugly heels that made me want to gag one time and it was when I was riding the Marta train in Atlanta. The lady might have been homeless and had to walk alot though and couldn’t help it. My heart went out to her.

The office picture is something you can laugh about later. Just not today.


Leave a Reply

