jump to navigation

Saturday, December 20, 2008 December 20, 2008

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
trackback
Merry Christmas, kids.  We went grocery shopping.  That’s all you get this year.
 
I looked at cars online this evening at one of the local Ford dealerships.  I found one or two prospective cars, and have an email sent to the dealership to inquire about one of those said cars.  My van is on it’s last legs, and the knocking engine made that abundantly clear this week.  I so do not want a car note, but I think it’s in the very near future.  The dealership isn’t open on Sundays, so it will probably be Monday before I get a reply.  We won’t get much for the van on a trade in, though.  It’s ten almost 11 years old, and it shows. 
 
I finally finished the cabling on the yoke of the sweater I am knitting.  I just marked off where the back, sleeves and front will go, and was starting to pick up the back stitches when the cat pounced upon my bed, mournfully mewing because her tummy hurts because you know we just don’t feed her enough.  I’m looking forward to her vet appointment for her yearly check up next month so I can poke fun at all the weight she’s gained in the past year.  Wide bottom.  (Really, she’s a smallish cat, but she has gained weight since we adopted her.)
 
Dee and the kids are coming back tonight.  They went out to see the Zoo Lights (At the zoo, duh) which is an amazing Christmas light display.  I’ve seen pictures, but never been. 
 
The hub and I bought stuff for a nice quiet brunch tomorrow for the two of us, since we thought we’d be able to enjoy a big breakfast/lunch in the amazing quiet that has been our house the past 24 hours, but of course we didn’t buy enough for five … so it looks like those plans are nixed!  I can still make some waffles or something, but the ham and eggs will have to be for another time.  Darn!  We did have a nice meal together tonight, however, even though the wine was awful, and the whole bottle went down the sink.
 
I watched one of my all time favorite holiday movies tonight.  Eight Crazy Nights (Adam Sandler).  I just love it.  It’s a bit crude, but it always makes me laugh.  Next up – Emmett Otter’s Jug Band Christmas.  I wish my Mom was here to watch it with me – she loves that one as much as I do.
 
Tomorrow Dee and I and the kids, too, I suppose, are going to run out to the BX.  I need to see if they have – uh – I think they might be called “Rug-stays.”  That non-slip stuff you put under a throw rug so it won’t move around.  I’m not holding my breath, but maybe I’ll luck out.  I suppose I could use some double sided carpet tape if I had to, but I like to be able to pick up the carpet and mop under them.
 
I need to start my holiday baking tomorrow, too.  I want to get the pumpkin roll done.  The Hub and I decided we have to have a cheesecake, too, because for his birthday I was supposed to make “Cheesecake Burritos.”  I’m sure it has a proper name, but I can’t remember what it might be.  You take a piece of cheesecake and wrap it in a flour tortilla.  Pan fry until golden, then serve with sauteed bananas and caramel sauce.  We had it once at IHOP and made it a few times, too.  We’ll have to eat no carbs the whole day to be able to afford that for dessert.  It’s worth it!  Anyway, you can’t use one of those non-bake cheesecakes, because it will melt when you fry it.  So we’ll make the cheesecake, and freeze a few pieces so later on down the road I can finally get around to making his birthday dessert.  I won’t make the cheesecake until Wednesday after I get off work.  We have to make Santa cut-out cookies that night, as is our tradition.  That’s probably all the holiday baking I’ll be doing.  I have to make chocolate covered pretzel rods Bryce loves them,) and homemade snicker bars (Everybody loves them,) and then I’ll be done with all the holiday sweets.  What do I like most about making all the goodies??  By the time they are finished I am so sick of them I don’t want to eat any of it.  That’s always a good thing.
 
Quote of the Day:
In the old days, it was not called the Holiday Season; the Christians called it ‘Christmas’ and went to church; the Jews called it ‘Hanukkah’ and went to synagogue; the atheists went to parties and drank.  People passing each other on the street would say ‘Merry Christmas!’ or ‘Happy Hanukkah!’  or (to the atheists) ‘Look out for the wall!’ 
           ~Dave Barry, “Christmas Shopping:  A Survivor’s Guide”
 
Comments»

1. Anne Allen - December 20, 2008

Cath, The cheesecake burrito’s sound divine. Just arrived in AZ late tonight. It’s good to be back. Warm here compared to the rest of the USA. I say, let’s meet up while I’m in town for the winter. Anne

2. Indigo - December 21, 2008

I love “Eight Crazy Nights”! It’s right up there with Nightmare Before Christmas. I was hoping against hope to wait until Wed. to do Grocery Shopping…however I’m beginning to think with this unpredicatable weather I might be safer going today. I haven’t gotten any stocking stuffers yet either (which is strange as it’s usually the first thing I get)…

Last year we drove our truck around (imagine a NY winter of freezing cold) with no heat and only one door that would open the drivers side door. It was hell, but we made it through the winter to be able to take our time and shop for what we wanted.
Hope today finds you with the wonder of the season, and enjoying it to the fullest. (Hugs)Indigo

3. Sandra - December 21, 2008

Wow, you sound so busy! The cheesecake buritto sounds wonderful but full of calories, mind you, who cares at this time of year…lol! Have a really Happy Christmas. :o)

Love Sandra xxxx


Leave a Reply

