jump to navigation

Tuesday, December 23, 2008 December 23, 2008

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback
UGH!!!  Something is going on in my lungs, I think.  I have back pain behind my shoulder blade, but it’s not, you know … BACK pain.  It’s not muscular, either.  I so don’t want to be sick for Christmas!  Little Gavin felt feverish this evening, too, so I hope he’s not relapsing.
 
I was going to get my hair cut this afternoon, but I didn’t feel like sitting in the salon.  It looked busy.  I might try and go up Friday morning.  There’s never anyone there first thing in the morning, and Irene can play around with my hair. 
 
Hub went out Christmas shopping this afternoon after work.  Always the procrastinator.  Bryce went with him to buy me a gift.
 
I made the most awesome chicken for dinner.  I took two chicken tenders, wrapped them in ham slices, then put a piece of Swiss cheese over the top. Baked them at 375ºF for thirty five minutes.  They were so tasty!  It would work well with a chicken breast, too, but I have those reserved for another meal.  Make do with what you have.
 
Months ago I sent off for “Letters from Santa” for Piper and Gavin.  I was thinking about them a few days ago, and reckoning that they weren’t going to come at all.  They came today.  Why they had me put in “A few personal things about each child” on the request form is beyond me, because they were form letters (Both different, but still form letters.)  They were supposed to be personalized.  Uh. No.  It could have been written to any child in America that believes in Santa.  At least they were free.  the letter was “Written” in fine script handwriting, and then the child’s name was chicken scratched next to the “Dear Special Friend.”  A kindergartener must have been earning some extra pocket money.
 
Got the candy bars made today.  Now all that’s left is the cheesecake, and the homemade sticky buns (Make ahead) for Christmas morning.  I hope my dough rises!
 
Got a call from my high school friend Ellen today (MitMarie, we need to talk about the reunion – I have dates now) and we were talking about our Christmas day menus.  She said her sister called her yesterday and said “Guess what I’m doing?  Making Kathy’s truffles!”  Ellen replied “Well, guess what I’m doing?  Making Kathy’s Garbage.”  Those were recipes I gave them in high school!!  Too funny. 
 
Quote of the Day:
I hear that in many places something has happened to Christmas; that it is changing from a time of merriment and carefree gaiety to a holiday which is filled with tedium; that many people dread the day and the obligation to give Christmas presents is a nightmare to weary, bored souls; that the children of enlightened parents no longer believe in Santa Claus; that all in all, the effort to be happy and have pleasure makes many honest hearts grow dark with despair instead of beaming with good will and cheerfulness. 
        ~Julia Peterkin, A Plantation Christmas, 1934
 
 
 
 
Comments»

1. Kelly - December 26, 2008

you made candy bars?>??????? Do you know that I made NOTHING this yeaar? NOTHING….and it is killing me….lol….


Leave a Reply

