jump to navigation

Friday, December 26, 2008 December 26, 2008

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback
I had to have some soup tonight for dinner.  I was craving soup ever since I made that pot for Nicole’s Mom yesterday.  I guess I never told that story … Nicole’s mom was sick in bed, so I made her a pot of chicken soup.  Nicole, Blaine and Bryce ran it over to her between unwrapping presents and dinner.  It just smelled SO good – I had to make a pot of soup for us.  I used leftovers from last nights dinner and relish tray.
 
Leftover Soup
 
1 large onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, sliced
2 tablespoons of olive oil
 Saute garlic and onion in olive oil until translucent, about five minutes.  The add remaining ingredients.
 
64 ounces chicken broth
4 chicken bouillon cubes, unless your broth is rich
1-2 carrots, diced small
1 cup cabbage, diced into small pieces
1 cup cauliflower, cut into small pieces
1/4 cup celery leaves (Fresh)
2 tablespoons dried parsley
1/2 cup ham, diced very small
1 cup mashed potatoes
1 handful dried green peas
pinch of thyme
Pepper to taste
 
Simmer at least 20 minutes, until veggies are tender.
 
Recipe is also posted on the recipe page for easy access.  I want another bowl, it was so good – but I’m full from the first bowl!
 
I’m starting to feel sick again, so we are not going to Doc’s Boxing Day party tonight (though last I heard it was being canceled anyway because his wife was feeling poorly.)  I wish I could just get well.  I spent most of the day on my bed with my new blanket The Hub bought for me for Christmas, watching old movies.  I was going to go get my hair cut, but didn’t even feel up to that.  I did manage to shower and wash my hair in preparation for the haircut, but that was as far as I took it.
 
Dee and the grandchildren went to her cousins for the weekend, and Nicole and Blaine stole Bryce for the weekend.  The house has been very quiet, which was much needed.   Christmas day the grandchildren were crying and screaming all day – they’re getting sick again – so they were whiney and cranky.  Piper spent the day antagonizing her brother, and when she wasn’t making him cry, she was crying herself.  She cried because she was hungry, but when we sat down to eat she cried because she didn’t want to.  She cried because “It’s MINE!” or … because it wasn’t hers.  It was a challenging day to be sure.  I don’t know how Dee kept her cool with the kids, I know she was getting exasperated with them. 
 
I did not sleep well Christmas eve – leg cramps- got about three hours of sleep, so by five o’clock I was literally zombie like.  I was hoping I would sleep soundly last night, but alas, I was up again with leg cramps.  The kind that move your feet into all kinds of oddly contorted shapes.  Ouch.  Hopefully since I’ve had a relatively calm day without hours and hours on my feet, I will forego the leg cramps tonight.
 
I don’t think there were any disappointed faces concerning presents on Christmas day.  Everyone was well pleased with everything they got from each other.  Nicole, at one point, was appalled because she thought The Hub had given me an exercise ball – but that was just the box he used to hold the present.  It was funny!  My mom sent us a generic version of “DanceDanceRevolution” so that will be interesting, though I will probably be the only one who will use that. 
 
I’m off to take a hot bath with a mug of sugar free hot chocolate!
Pictures tomorrow.
Comments»

1. Kelly - December 26, 2008

oh i cant wait to see the pictrues… 🙂 I need to post pictures myself 🙂 but I need 14 minutes without children in my ear…lol


Leave a Reply

