jump to navigation

Tuesday, December 30, 2008 December 30, 2008

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
trackback
I am SO not ready for the second Christmas, and it’s proving to be troublesome to be able to get everyone together.  Since Blaine and Nicole work nights, it makes it difficult to find a time they can both be here.  We might have to do the Christmas and the Christmas dinner on different days (Which is fine by me) but I was so hoping we could do both on the same day so it would be just like Brock didn’t miss the day at all.  To top it all off, I thought I’d have a few more days to get Brock some presents at the after holiday sales.  He’s not bringing any street clothes with him – as a matter of fact, I don’t think he has anything but military uniforms with him in Afghanistan.  Dee has bought him a few pairs of jeans, and I wanted to get him a few shirts.
 
I do love the after Christmas sales to stock up on gift tags, wrapping paper, cards, etc.  I don’t need wrapping paper since I still have a huge box from previous sales, ditto on the cards, but I did need some tags.  I picked some up for 24 cents a package today.  Ahh.  I love a bargain. 
 
Tomorrow I have the day off, but I have a load of things I need to get done.  I need to go shopping for our traditional New Years Day meal (Subs) and finish wrapping the gifts I didn’t wrap for Brock yet.  I’d like to hit Kohl’s for some shirts for him.  The main problem is I have to be on “Stand-by” as we have no definite time of his arrival.  I am going to stay here while Dee and The Hub go to the airport, so I can’t venture too far from home in case I need to get home in a hurry.  Hopefully we’ll have a couple hours advance notice, but we have to be prepared for anything.  You know the military – Hurry Up and Wait.
 
Dee got her license today!  She texted me to let me know she had passed. I was so proud of her.  I think what really gave me the most warm fuzzies is that she wanted to share the info with me.  Who would have thought, after our rocky start, that she would have wanted me to be one of the first to know?!  Life is good.
 
I’m too thrilled that my boy is on his way home to sit here and type out an entry.
 
Happy happy birthday to my very best friend, MitMarie.  I can’t wait to see you again and I hope your birthday (And New Years Eve) is a wonderful celebration!  Love you!
 
Comments»

1. Anne Allen - December 30, 2008

As a Mother I know how much joy you must feel for your son, who is serving our country, will be coming home …………give him an extra kiss for me for the great job he is doing. Now YOU feel better! Anne

2. Kelly - December 31, 2008

Are you picking him up yet? huh huh huh? I want to see some pictures 🙂

3. tressa - January 3, 2009

Sheesh I can barely get through one Christmas! You are amazing!


Leave a Reply

