jump to navigation

My Chex Mix January 3, 2009

Posted by Rusty in Recipes.
Tags: , , ,
trackback
I’ve had several emails asking for my Hot and Spicy Chex Mix.  I’m afraid I can’t be of much help to you, Ladies.  I kind of wing it – but I can give you a general idea, and you can adjust it to your liking.
 
A little more than 1/2 a box each of Wheat, Rice and Corn Chex
one quarter to one half bag of matchstick pretzels
about two cups of Cheese crackers or goldfish crackers
Nuts – if you want to add them.  Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t
1 stick of butter or margarine
about half a cup of hot sauce (I use Frank’s- I would not recommend using Tobasco brand sauce in that quantity)
about 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce
about 1/4 C of my homemade Cajun seasoning
a generous sprinkling of cayenne pepper
 
Place all the cereal, pretzels, crackers and nuts in a very large roasting pan.  Melt butter and add remaining ingredients.  Stir well.  Pour over the cereal a little at a time and mix thoroughly to coat all pieces.  You may not have to use the all the butter mixture.  Bake in 300ºF oven for about 1.5 hours, stirring every 15 minutes.  Turn oven off and allow mix to cool with the oven.  Store in an airtight container.
Comments»

1. Kelly - January 3, 2009

I am so making this sometime this weekend…..

2. tressa - January 3, 2009

OMG…the more entries I read the more I am concerned for you ….Please tell us Brock is home and you are just too busy to write.


Leave a Reply

