jump to navigation

Brock is Finally in American Air-Space! 1-4-09 January 4, 2009

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback
I was washing up some dishes so I could free the sink up to prepare the turkey for brining when Dee came downstairs and said “He’s in Atlanta!  He’ll be getting on the plane in ten minutes – he’ll call from Dallas”  I think she’s in shock – and was still a bit sleepy.   We all probably have the feeling that something else will happen to delay his homecoming, but at least he’s in America!
 
Woo Hoo!!!
 
The cat woke me up last night at one o’clock.  I knew immediately something was wrong.  My sugars were very, very low.  I had a hard time finding my feet while walking down the stairs to check my blood glucose.  I drank about a quarter cup of milk and ate half a Christmas cookie, mainly because they were right in front of me and Hello?  I needed some sugar.  About 20 minutes later my sugars were up to 91 so I knew I was OK to go back to bed.  I was a bit surprised they were so low, though.  We had homemade mac and cheese for dinner, and usually when I eat pasta my sugars are on the higher side for a very long time.  Granted, I only ate about half a cup of mac -n- cheese, but still!  I think because the mac -n- cheese had fat in it, my body didn’t absorb as many carbs.  (Did you know that?  If you eat carbs along with a bit of fat, your sugars won’t go as high as they would if you didn’t eat the fat.)  Lesson learned. 
 
The mac and cheese was very tasty!
 
I started off with a basic bechamel sauce – melted half a stick of butter, grated in about a tablespoon of onion and two garlic cloves.  I then stirred in about half a cup of flour, a teaspoon of dry mustard, and a sprinkling of smoked paprika,  then whisked in a cup or so of milk.  Once that was well combined I added one cup of mild cheddar cheese, and one cup of sharp cheddar cheese.  I tossed in a pound of cooked pasta and a few tablespoons of crumbled bacon, then poured it all into a 9 x 13 inch pan which I had coated well with cooking spray.  I grated the remaining sharp cheese over the top (about half a cup), then crumbled two handfuls of potato chips over the cheese and popped it in a 350ºF oven for thirty minutes.  It was SO good!  Even the Piper  liked it!  (Shock!)
 
I’m off to wrap some Christmas presents!
 
Quote of the Day:
Home is a place you grow up wanting to leave, and grow old wanting to get back to. 
        ~John Ed Pearce
 
Comments»

1. tressa - January 4, 2009

YAY!!!! Its good to know he’s on American ground or rather in American air space….

I can feel for you about the sugar thing….sometimes my count drops so low I don’t know how I can make it to the nearest chocolate bar.

2. Lea - January 4, 2009

doing a happy dance!!!!!!

always your baby… also your hero!!!

Give him one big ole hug from me!!

3. Kathleen Botsford - January 4, 2009

Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I am so happy to hear your son is “almost” home safely. I cannot imagine how hard that must be as a mother. I pray for the safety of all of our children everywhere.
Kathleen
P.S. what is alphainventions?

4. Sandra - January 4, 2009

Thats wonderful news! :o)

Love Sandra xxxx


Leave a Reply

