jump to navigation

On Being Judgemental Feb 19, 2009 February 19, 2009

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
trackback

I have become much less judgemental in recent years, and I had thought that I wasn’t very judgemental at all.  I’ve come to realize I am still judgemental, but not so much about things that really matter – more about trivial things, and I need to just stop it!  For example – I won’t judge someone on the color of their skin, or a disability, or say, tattoos or hair color, but I have noticed I judge about clothing, or say … what they are eating.  If i read someones blog about what they are making for dinner, and I know a bit of their health history, like … diabetes, or high blood pressure or high cholesterol – then I find myself judging them for what they are eating.  (I’ve long since stopped judging over weight people on what they eat, as I myself am overweight, and just because I see someone eating an ice cream cone doesn’t mean they eat one every day!) I need to stop feeling like a know it all and wishing I could write out menus for people.    As for the issues I have with clothing (i.e. she shouldn’t wear that, her muffin top is showing, or she’s too old for that short skirt, or man, does he ever wash his clothes?) I am not sure I can ever make that go away.  The Hub teases I’m on the Fashion Police Squad.  He can’t gripe about it too much, because I have passed the trait on to him.  He was actually walking away from me in the store the other day and came all the way back to say “Check out Miss Thang in gold.”  Hee hee!!

I had the day off today (I REALLY needed the day off, I wish I could explain why, but I can’t because though it does concern me, it’s not my story to tell) and went out to the base to have my bloodwork done.  I need to make an appointment for my three month check up but so far haven’t been very motivated to do so.  I think it’s because I’m going to be ashamed of my HbA1c results.  I expect them to be on the high side because I’ve been fighting off illness for so long, and I am super stressed out about a few things.  I’m not going to stress about it, though, because I KNOW why they will be high, and I KNOW it’s not because I’ve been going crazy with my diet.  That doesn’t make it suck any less, though.

I might be losing my job.  The boss is interviewing in another state next weekend.  In some ways I feel like it’s a betrayal.  I’ve stuck by him through thick and thin, and not getting paid regularly – and now that the times are really rough, he’s going to bail and leave me without a job. (If he takes the out of state job)  I can understand it from his side – he needs to make money, too, and business hasn’t been that great, but .. geeze.   I let my Xray license lapse because I thought I”d be with him for many more years.  I have no idea what it will entail to get it back, but I suppose I’m going to have to look into that now.  I am thinking of trying to get a job at the base hospital if I have to look for new work.  It’s closer, the traffic headache will be less, and I am certainly capable of doing an MA job or reception job out there.  If I can get my Xray license back, I could try for a position in that clinic, too.  See?   Stress.  Another way to make those blood sugars skyrocket.

I am starting to get over this … cold? Whatever it may be.  I just can’t seem to shake the extreme fatigue. 

Jack Ford.  Yummy.

Just wondering ….
How important does a person have to be before they are considered assassinated instead of just murdered?

Comments»

1. Kelly - February 19, 2009

Love that thought for the day! 🙂 **giggle**

So DJ likes to people watch huh? Wayne too and he tries to hide his giggles sometimes…lol…but he always points it out to me…lol…he is too too funny….

I am in Tulsa…sitting in my hotel room….on their wireless internet… 🙂 about to take a shower and get ready to go 🙂

ehhh about the job…been there done that…get your xray license back JUST IN CASE…cover your butt woman…

love you

2. Rosie - February 23, 2009

I do that as well.. look at what people are wearing etc. I think it stems from my natural curiosity of “why’s” lol

I hope that you are easily allowed to reinstate your x-ray license and you find another job. I would do it like Kelly says above.. just as a cya so in case you need it you have it. I wish you luck!

3. Rebecca - February 23, 2009

lol your last question threw me for a loop. Ummm….I guess pretty important because you never hear the word assinated.
As for judging people. I imagine everyone does that to some level. I’d have to sit back and think about what I specifically watch people for, but off the cuff, I know I judge to a certain degree Parents and the way their are with their children. For example, the divorced dad that only sees his kids once every couple of months makes me a bit naseous and usually I’m not interested in excuses. Do I have that right? Not really, but it is what it is………
I’ve got your blog on feedburner now! Ya me, it will be easy to keep updated and track of you.
I hope your week goes well and your feeling better and more lively.

4. Joyce - February 25, 2009

I do hope you don’t lose this job…but good that you have a backup with the x-ray…if need be. Stress is bad…it can cause so many health issues…I wish you less stress, and more happiness. Hope this finds you having a better week…many hugs and love,
Joyce

5. Rosie - March 1, 2009

I really could have sworn I commented here. I think I’m losing my mind.
I hope things go well with the job and getting your license back!

6. Rosie - March 1, 2009

oh look at that … I did comment. I’m just senile

7. Mike - March 2, 2009

Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

______________________________
Don’t pay for your electricity any longer…
Instead, the power company will pay YOU!

8. christapaz - March 3, 2009

Okay, Kathy. We’re finally back to nearly normal, so I can keep up with you! We are all judgemental. I think it’s human nature! Plus, it’s very entertaining as long as no one gets hurt!

love, cp

9. christapaz - March 3, 2009

Oh, and your job – I’m so very sorry. You know I changed jobs twice last year. It is very traumatic – even when it’s your choice, but especially when it isn’t.


Leave a Reply

