jump to navigation

Charlie! Back up that truckload of stress and dump it right here! March 3, 2009

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
trackback

Apologies.  I haven’t felt much like writing as of late.  I don’t write because I don’t want to whine, but that’s exactly what I’d be doing, so I haven’t bothered. 

 

Dee and the kids moved back in with us Friday night.  Her (Non) mother called her a bad mother, and said just because she’s been raising her kids alone for three years doesn’t make her a good mother, and her (Non) step dad agreed with her mom.  How could a mother, who didn’t even raise her own children, even pretend to know what being a good mother is all about?  Dee was pawned off from relative to relative when she was young because her mother “Couldn’t handle” her.  (Her Mom’s words.  Not mine.)  Dee IS a good mother.  Her children are always clean and well fed (When they decide they will eat, that is) and cared for. 

After Dee moved in with us, she went home to pick up the rest of her things, and there was a letter from her mother, telling Dee that she wanted Dee and the kids to stay there, but there would be “Rules.”

  1. No taking the kids out during the day, ever, and certainly never having them out of the house past six p.m.

Do I really need to list any of the other rules?  That right there, that JAIL SENTENCE, would be enough to make me run for the hills and never look back.

It’s all because Dee got her license and a car, and now her mom can’t control her by keeping her locked up at home. 

I am not, and never have been a violent person, let me qualify that.  I would not want to, and certainly hope I never meet that woman.  There’s no telling how much damage I would do with my mouth alone.  (Duh.  Meaning harsh words, not that I would bite her or anything!)

We have some rules, here – like telling us if you aren’t going to be home for dinner so I don’t cook for an Army when only a posse will be showing up.  We’d like to know if you are not going to be spending the night at home.  That’s about it, though.  Common decency is all we demand.  Adults shouldn’t have to live by a child’s rules.  Am I wrong about that?

 

So other than that – no word as yet if I am losing my job.  The boss went for his interviews in the other state this past weekend.  He hasn’t been offered a job (Yet) but if he is offered one he will take it.  He was in a car accident while there – slipping around on the ice/snow.  Bad omen, I’d say.

 

Taxes.  Ugh.  It’s not that ours are very difficult normally, but I have come to a road block.  I am unsure how to report the theft of items from the house.  Singlely? As one mass unit with just the total amount listed and “Household items” as the “Stolen object?”  I need to go down and talk to my friend Sheila tomorrow morning and ask her – she’s a tax preparer and will know, or will find out for me.

 

Haven’t sold the old van yet. 

 

The community garage sale is in two weeks and we have not begun getting things ready for that.  (Or is it three weeks?)

 

I planted some peas, jalapenos (Seeds and one plant) and a new tomato plant.  The old tomato plants magically made it through the winter and are still producing, but I don’t know how long that will continue.  The peas have come up – all 38 of them, and the peppers haven’t poled out of the ground yet.  I also planted a lime tree (Bearss limes – as big as lemons!  It’s got some small limes on it already!) The lemon tree is growing in leaps and bounds, and some of the older lemons are now as big as … thinking … kumquats.  We also planted two Shamen Ash trees to replace the two Ficus trees that froze a few winters back.  They are about ten feet tall and doing well so far.  The aloe blooms are getting very tall and I just cannot wait to see those blooming.  Last weekend I pulled almost all the crab grass from the front yard and sprayed the weeds in the rock gardens.  I reckon that’s about it on the gardening front.

 

I have some cool photos I want to add to this entry, but I haven’t resized them yet, so they will have to wait.

 

Just wondering ….
Why don’t you ever see the headline “Psychic wins the lottery?”

Comments»

1. Rebecca - March 4, 2009

I go through lots of times when I don’t feel like writing in my online journal, so I hear you there.
Your common curtesy request sound far more in line then harsh rules that are to hard to maintain. I hope you enjoy her staying there with you~
ps. I love that last little lottery notion. GOOD POINT!

2. christapaz - March 4, 2009

Whining is underestimated as stress relief! I am sorry you are going through such a stressful time. We are just getting over one, so I understand. Dee’s mother would think we are the worst mothers! We run kind of a loose ship!

-cp

3. Indigo - March 5, 2009

I think I would be on the warpath if I ever met Dee’s (non)Mom too. Good gravy is the woman unbalanced to expect something like that? Hoping the job thing doesn’t go with the interviews so you have your job longer. Your in my thoughts dear friend. (Hugs)Indigo

4. Anne - March 6, 2009

This situation reminds me of many years ago (Vietnam) and I had to live with my parents. It was awful and soon my husbands realitives rescued me. It was a plan move for all of us. I love it is for ya’ll too. Job stress is awful. My son and my new DIL lost their jobs soon after getting married. The unemployement office here in AZ is overwhelmed and their phone system has crashed. They are struggling as so many are. Hopefully everything will turn out just fine for you. Anne

5. Rosie - March 22, 2009

Holy crap… her mother surely doesn’t think she’s mother of the century does she? UGH

I’m so glad Dee has you!


Leave a Reply

