jump to navigation

He’s Gone July 17, 2010

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
trackback

My friend/former patient passed away last Thursday evening, the day after I had spoken with him.  Doc called to let me know, and we planned to go to the funeral or memorial service together.  Unfortunately, our friend had already made arrangements with the funeral home to be immediately cremated and “NO services what-so-ever.”   This is typical of his personality, and I believe he had mentioned to me before that once he was gone, he was GONE, and didn’t want any kind of fuss made over him.  I would have liked to honor him by going to his funeral, however, he knows how much he meant to me, and paying tribute after his passing wouldn’t have made a difference.  Rest in blissful peace, “Hard Luck.”  I love you and will miss you, always.

I’ve got an old high school friend from Indiana (Rival school, at that!) coming for a visit in two weeks.  We are really looking forward to seeing him and meeting his daughter.  We’re going to go tubing on the Salt River, something I have never done before.  I can’t wait!  I’ve always wanted to go tubing.  There are a few other things he wants to do while he’s here (He lived here for 5 years after high school, but hasn’t been back since ’85.  He’s not going to believe how much it’s changed.) like go up to Camelback Mountain – the lookout point, and see if the Mexican restaurant he used to frequent is still down on Camelback Road.  Other than that, I’m sure we’ll find ways to occupy ourselves and get into some kind of trouble.  Haha.

I’m still plugging away at my HCG diet.  I had a bit of a stall, as I wasn’t eating enough (It’s a 500 calorie diet, how on earth could I not eat even 500 calories a day?!) but I’m back on track now, trying to eat a bit more, and back to losing weight.  It’s day 15 and I’ve lost 14 pounds, so I am well pleased with the results so far.  I’m not looking forward to my next piece of dry chicken though.  Ugh.  Only 8 more days on the diet, before my two-week break, then the last round. I can do eight days.  I can.  Really.  (Can’t I?)  I should be done dieting by Labor Day.

Did a bit of side work for my old boss on Friday.  He’s getting ready to move to Missouri and his wife called and asked if I could help him out with something specific, and said she’d leave me a check.  The job only took me five minutes, (We all thought it was going to take much longer, but, hey, I’m a genius and figured it out rather quickly.) so I made a nice chunk of change for that 5 minutes of work, and felt guilty taking pay for it.  The rest of the time we sat and chatted about his move,the kids,  life, and other things.  It was nice.  We’re going to try to go out to lunch next week. 

I’ve got to make my infamous cake truffles for a co-workers birthday next week, and then the week after that is our oldest son’s :::G A S P::: 26th birthday.  He and his wife will be coming over for his birthday dinner (White chili and homemade rolls – no dessert, per his requests.  He says we always eat too much chili and have no room for dessert, anyway.  I wonder if a candle on a roll would suffice??)

In August, for Kristen’s birthday, we are planning on renting a cabin up in Flagstaff for the weekend and celebrating with her and Gunnar.  His moving out has been hard on me.  I still haven’t gotten past the point of thinking I’ll see him when I get home from work.  We text frequently, but it’s just not the same as sharing time with him.  He’s an amazing kid, and I know they all have to leave the nest sometime (They WILL all leave, won’t they??) but it would be so much easier if he had moved to an apartment here in town, rather than 2.5 hours away!

It has been unbearably hot and humid here the past week.  The monsoon is trying to move in, though it has alluded my neighborhood.  Last night parts of the valley got some rain.  To our east.  To our west.  To our north.  I swear we live in a no-rain zone!  I know, I know,  it’s ironic for a girl from Louisiana to rant about humidity, but I’ve lived here for almost 13 years – I am not used to humidity any more.  Now I’m wondering if I would survive should we ever move back home.  (I must admit, we loved the Flagstaff area, and wouldn’t mind moving up there!!  It’s so … green!  I could have an actual garden!)

I was watering what’s left of one of my tomato plants this morning, and the resident Praying Mantis was not amused.  He actually chased me!  Yes, leapt off the plant and jumped at my feet in a rage!  I knocked him back with a gentle stream of water, but he was not to be deterred.  I backed up quickly, but he was not going to stand for that mess.   He ran towards me, I felt like screaming like a school-girl, but instead blasted him with a stronger stream of water, stunning him into submission.  Come after me, will ya, when I am trying to keep your habitat alive.   I should let your non-producing tomato plant of a home die for that little stunt.  Bastard.

Comments»

1. Jeannette - July 19, 2010

I am sorry your friend passed away and did not want any fuss but you will always have those memories. Not sure how I can put this journal on alert unless you email me to let me know you have posted. I know nothing about this system.


Leave a Reply

