jump to navigation

Resigned July 19, 2013

Posted by Rusty in Uncategorized.
trackback

Ok.  UGH!  I feel like a big ole gelatinous bowl of nothingness right now. 

I had a job interview with a local hospital on Wednesday.  I knew it was beyond my scope of knowledge, but I decided to go for it anyway.  Not surprisingly, I failed the test by 4 points.  However, the interview portion was very enlightening.  It was the first honest feedback I have received in my nearly year long search for a job.  They actually told me I probably wouldn’t be able to find a coding job because of three things 1.) I’ve been not working for a year  2.) I have a good “Base” but I have NO depth of knowledge of coding  3.) I have no training in the new coding system being implemented next October.  They said I need to go to a three day ICD 10 “Train the trainer” boot camp, test and pass the extremely difficult exam, then go back to college and get my RHIT degree.

I don’t know if I want to go through all that work to keep my job.  I’m 51.  That would take me at least 4-5 years to complete.  And before I could even take the boot camp, I’d have to go back to college to an anatomy and physiology class.  They said the only reason they are looking for a lower level coder right now is because people are quitting for the same reason I am discouraged.  They don’t want to go through all that to keep their jobs.  They said 50% of their employees have already said they are quitting next year when the new implementation goes into effect. 

I can look at it how they were encouraging me to do – that if I go through the training I will be in demand, as there are so few ICD 10 coders.  Or I can resign myself to the fact I will not be able to get a job in this field without years of training.  Even then, what’s to guarantee I will find a job?!

So this afternoon I have an interview for a job as a scheduler at a sleep lab.  I can do that without even thinking about it. 

I think what upsets me the most is I feel like I have accomplished nothing career wise.  I’ll be a lowly scheduler if I get this job, when I have worked as an X-ray tech, an MA, and a medical coder.   It’s like starting all over at the beginning.  I lost my x-ray credentials because I worked so long for doctors who didn’t have x-ray equipment.  I’d have to go back to school and re-take the test to become certified.  I could do that, free, because my school allows you to go back and audit classes, but eh.  Not sure I want to go that route, either.

I need to stop feeling sorry for myself and just get a job that gives me a paycheck.  Get it over with.  Perhaps I will do the ICD 10 training in the end.  I just don’t know if I have the fortitude/desire/brain power any more.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

